Learning to ride a motorbike

revolution saint

I'm thinking about taking up biking. Used to be well into it as a kid, had my own bike and used to do some trial bike stuff with my Dad but unfortunately he had a nasty accident when I was 15 and the whole thing was off limits. Now, some 20 years later I'm thinking it would be good to get back into it. I've had no experience since I was 15 so would appreciate any advice and suggestions.

Looks like the DAS course would be a good route to go down. Anyone done this? What was it like and how much does it cost?

Cheers

If you've not ridden in 20 years, I would recommend a DAS 3 day course, perhaps with a 1/2 day taster session first just to a) make sure you get on with the instructors and b) get used to riding again.

For a 3 day course, expect to pay around the £600-£700 mark since the testing laws have now changes and the course is more expensive, this includes all testing fees, dont forget youll have to do your theory test if you passed your driving test yonks ago.

I did my test with http://www.assuredridertraining.com/ in Southampton, can thoroughly recommend their professionalism and training, I went from only riding a 125 for a couple of months to passing on a "big bike" with only 3 minor faults in 2 days worth of training.

Good luck, lets us know what you do. I've only been riding for just over a year and about to do my first bike trip next weekend :)

9618543.jpg?AWSAccessKeyId=0ZRYP5X5F6FSMBCCSE82&Expires=1243094183&Signature=S2%2FAGp0MWxVzLus8e9UuUXdQuR0%3D

If you've not ridden in 20 years, I would recommend a DAS 3 day course, perhaps with a 1/2 day taster session first just to a) make sure you get on with the instructors and b) get used to riding again.

For a 3 day course, expect to pay around the £600-£700 mark since the testing laws have now changes and the course is more expensive, this includes all testing fees, dont forget youll have to do your theory test if you passed your driving test yonks ago.