Toyota Corolla

saint_stevo

I’ve just sold my old 1999 Corolla after owning it for five years. During that time, absolutely nothing went wrong with it despite ragging it constantly. It still drove fine when I sold it. I have just replaced it with a 2005 Corolla T Sport and fingers crossed, the luck will continue. Build quality in mine appears fine and Toyota’s are always close to the top of any reliability surveys. Apparently official parts can be expensive but I’ve never had to buy any. Blue Print do cheap parts for jap cars that are pretty good. I use a local ex Toyota mechanic to do all my servicing who is very reasonable.

I’ve no experience of the diesel models but would recommend being wary of any modern diesel. To comply with emissions and get more power, they have started getting pretty complicated. Things like direct injection, dual mass flywheels, particulate filters etc will cost a fortune if they go wrong. Unless you are doing a mileage that warrants a diesel, you may be best off with a petrol. I seen a couple of posts on a Toyota forum about the EGR valve on diesels getting clogged up and needing to get cleaned. Does not seem to be a difficult job.

People will always say they are boring cars which is just following the stereotype much like french cars having crap electrics, italian cars rotting and two seater convertibles only being suitable for hairdressers. Certainly my car if anything but boring from 6k to 8k rpm. At the same time, the unfashionable image means cheap insurance and no chaved up corsa trying to get a race at the lights.

The T Sports are quite nice, but they aren't quick when compared to their direct rivals of the era. That said, I've had a few Toyotas over the years, a Supra, A Celica GT4, A non-turbo Celica and two MR2s. The only fault I can recall in any of them (apart from their insistance at getting crashed) was the big ends starting to go in the GT4 but that hard a very hard life.