Essruu or Jeff le Taxi ?

Saint in Paradise

http://www.dailyecho.co.uk/news/8748499.Lone_taxi_driver_scuppers_cut_in_Christmas_fares/?ref=mr

A TAXI driver has been dubbed the Grinch Behind The Wheel after he scuppered a bid by trade bosses to cut fares this Christmas.

Marc Smith, 50, called the festive goodwill gesture “truly bizarre” and claimed many passengers did not care what they were charged to get home from a night out in the city at Christmas.

Perry McMillan has a day job.

He wants these guys to take a pay cut for working over Christmas (and if you are a paying customer great) but wonder how that would go down with the London Tube drivers who want triple time plus a day off in lieu!

I don't blame the cabbies for making extra money at Christmas. I'd rather be on the razzle New Years Eve than working, so fair play to them.

Supply and demand. Basic economics. If it's good enough for the City, it's good enough for the cabbies.

There needs to be a clampdown on foreigners driving red plates without a taxi licence though. It's definitely a problem. This is not racist, but I know one bloke (himself a taxi driver), who wouldn't pay an asian driver because he refused to show him his taxi id. (This, incidentally, was because the passenger had to give directions to the driver from town to his home in Woolston). When challenged, the driver drove off without collecting his fare.

I live a few hundred yards out side the city boundery and the cheating little blighters keep trying to charge me boundery charge on pre-booked rides.

I hope they all starve!

Anyone who lives outside of the City boundary and hails a taxi or jumps in one on a rank is an idiot if they then moan about the 25% boundary charge. Phone Radio Taxis (023 8066 6666 or follow on Twitter @Radio_Taxis) to pick you up and you'll never be charged a boundary charge (even if it's a Hackney that leaves a rank to get you!) Some other companies have followed suit and don't apply boundary charges also.