Salary Range in Job Adverts

for_heaven's_Saint

Evening all. I'm just beginning the search for my first 'proper' full time job and have started browsing through online advertisements. There's one thing that I'm not entirely sure on, which is the salary range that is given on many of the adverts, and I'm wondering if there is a general consensus on the use of this range or whether it varies with each advert and company.

For example, say a company says the salary is £18k to £24k a year. I would imagine that the chances of actually getting the job and being offered £24k are fairly slim, and it's just included to make the job look more attractive?

If this is not completely the case and there usually is some room for negotiation within the salary range (if/when offered the job) how can one go about negotiating a salary at the higher end of the range, without jeopardising the chance of getting the job? Is it considered bad practice to try to negotiate towards the higher end of the range? The worry I'd have is that, should I be offered a job that was advertised with a varying salary, and I decided to try to ask for more, the offerer may then decide to chose a candidate who is happy with the lower end of the range.

I'm sure there was a point at which the potential employer would happily negotiate with the person they considered the best candidate for the job, however with so many people applying for each job, I'm not sure I would stand out quite enough to consider paying me an extra couple of grand a year. :?

quite a difficult time to be negotiating I would suggest - then again if they think you are the best one for it they will pay more than for a lesser candidate, so if you get the job offer you will have some leverage - but use it carefully.

I've seen people try to haggle and look very greedy, an ugly trait to display before you even start, and enough to lose you the opportunity.