Eurozone Fiscal Union

pap

Once again, the EU is front-page news. Today, most of the headlines have been about Angela Merkel's intention to propose treaty changes at the next EU summit to achieve fiscal union within the Eurozone. Under the proposals, countries within the Eurozone will have to abide by a set of rules when governing their economies, with enforceable penalties for countries that break them.

Britain gets to take part in the discussions, but doesn't have to sign up to them.

I'm not an expert on financial harmonisation, so don't really know whether it'll solve the EU's current problems. Historically, there's evidence to suggest that harmonisation can go badly wrong. Our exit from the ERM during the Major government is one example. It could be argued that the Euro is another.

Another concern is the drift of sovereignty into the EU. It's another step toward a federal Europe, and will leave the EU with unprecedented power.

Finally, I wonder if major parties will recognise this as a treaty change to the EU and deliver on their promise to hold a referendum. Somehow, I doubt it. I'm sure there'll be a handy technicality in there somewhere, a la the Lisbon Treaty:-

"Ah yes, it's not called a Constitution anymore. It's called a Treaty. They're completely different things!".

Hmmmm, I'd need to look into the plans in more detail, but if proper integration was done, it would probably be time to decide what we want with our relationship with Europe. Do we want to be in or out, because straddling inbetween when the eurozone effectively forms a federal state will leave us outside. But that all depends on how the rules are drawn up, and I doubt many people would understand them when they are drawn up. Most people have difficultly understanding the difference between the ECJ and the ECHR, let alone the workings of the EU in the present or the future.