Handball in football

Dr Who?

As a qualified referee, I am getting sick to death of all the grey area there are in the rules.

The main one is handball, are the hands down by your side, is the player looking at the ball, is his hand/arm out to the ball, and he could not get out of the way of the ball from that range. Why not say that if the ball hits the arm or hand, then it is hand ball? Like in hockey, and the ball coming into contact with the foot. This would make things more consistant when refereeing in this area.

This comes up in nearly every game these days, and I have given penalties for hand ball and other times though perhaps he did not mean it. You have to think about to many different things before giving the decision. Keep it nice and easy and it it hits the hand then it is handball.

Another thing that has come in, is it does not matter if you win the ball clean with a tackle, you can still book or send off a player it you deem the challenge to be dangerous. Stupid rule.

Another one is hands on players backs on throw in's and when marking someone. I never give a free kick for this unless pressure is applied (shove or push) and not just resting on the players shoulder, or back. Ok you could say that this is another grey area!

Is there any other rules in football you would like to see changed to make things more simple?

The problem with football is that so many of the laws of the game are qualified with "in the opinion of the referee". While it gives most of us extra things to discuss down the pub, it certainly doesn't help officials' decision-making that there are so many grey areas, and FIFA have often over-complicated things with unnecessary clauses, caveats and extra directives to officials.