I need a job....

Saint Garrett

Although currently working in temporary roles I am looking for something a lot more long term.

I am a recent graduate in Accountancy and Finance 2:2 as of June, and am looking to start my career in it....(looking to do CIMA!)

Have tried a variety of agencies, websites, applying directly to companies among other things and haven't yet had any luck.

Does anyone have any insider tips, or advice from people who already work in this field about how it's best to go about things?

I am currently doing temp roles which are finance based (admin/purchase ledger/tax) which is all good experience for me, but nothing has realy taken off yet.

Any advice would be welcome. The best one I have had so far was from a close family friend who said "Move to New Zealand as they're desparate for people to fulfill finance accounting roles". Although not ideal, it could be potential if I don't find anything soon.

Where you looking to be based?

I was out of work for quite a while after I graduated. I came across this agency, http://www.inspiringinterns.com/, and found them to be brilliant. Unconventional, but streets ahead of any other agency (trust me I went through a lot).

Within a week, they got me an interview with Man Utd, yeah I know, but still a great opportunity that I would have taken in a heart beat. A week later they got me another interview which was very well suited to me, and I got the job, which I'm still in (9 months later).

Not sure what they'll have relevant for you, or in your area - but I would certainly recommend giving them a go.

Good luck mate, it's bloody brutal out there!

Kelvin, cheers for the info will definitely check that one out. Looks very interesting.

Don't really mind where I'm based tbh. Either round Basingstoke or in a city somewhere...not really fussed, although ideally down south as I've got a season ticket, but would just have to give that up if I was to move away.