HMRC Bother

Twiggy

Need some advice from you knowledgeable people.

Recieved last months payslip, and discovered that I had been taxed 40 odd quid for National Insurance and just "Tax" :(.

However I do not in anyway shape of form earn nearly enough annually to be taxed. Adding to the fact that I am also a student so its not council tax or anytihng like that :x.

I have phoned up the lovely people at HMRC and was on the phone for nearly 2 hours yesterday but never actually spoke to anyone. I just spoke to a recorded message and placed on hold, before being hung up on. The information on the website is not very clear for me, as I haven't over paid NI tax for the year, which appears to be the only option on there?

Was wondering is anyone had any ideas that I could try to get this money back. I know it seems petty for £40 but that was a days work for me, and is a weeks worth of food... (or a night out)

Any advice welcome :)

Have you just started a new job? If so, it's possible that the HR department failed to complete the paperwork (probably an online system these days) in time for them to receive an up-to-date tax code for you which would ensure their system would calculate the right amount of tax (i.e. zero). As a result, you've probably been put on an "emergency tax" code, which generally taxes you at the standard PAYE rate. You should get a rebate on that, but you'll probably have to wait until the end of the tax year in April.

Not started it as such, I'm on a seasonal contract which they juts add hours too when I'm home. I wasn't emergancy taxed the first months wages. The only thing I can think of is that I worked a lot of extra hours which ping the threshold :/

Not started it as such, I'm on a seasonal contract which they juts add hours too when I'm home. I wasn't emergancy taxed the first months wages. The only thing I can think of is that I worked a lot of extra hours which ping the threshold :/