Games of your life

pap

The old computer game forum doesn't get much love. I reckon that there are a sizeable proportion of forum members who indulge in a bit of gaming - I happen to love computer games (when I'm not feeling guilty at spending time on them).

Recently, I've been playing Sid Meier's Pirates! on the iPad. It occurs to me that I've been playing that game, or a version of it, for over 20 years now. I'm also keenly aware that I have other "go to" games. Tekken, for example, is my fighting series - mostly because I spend a lot of time getting pretty good at Tekken 2, and my brothers still play it. I'd happily play Mario Kart until they stop making it (or alternatively, I am physically unable to play it) too.

Thinking about it, there are tons of games that have been very influential. Think Metal Gear Solid gave me my first real idea of what gaming could be. Grand Theft Auto 3 too on PS2, but for totally different reasons (c'mon, who wasn't floored by being able to explore a 3D city?). Those are just a few off the top of my head. What are the games of your life?

Dizzy

Ghostbusters (C64)

Alex the Kidd

Wings

Speedball 2

Final Fantasy

Sensible Soccer

Cannon Fodder

Elite 2

Heroes of Might and Magic

Some good picks there. Had an NES instead of a Master System, so didn't really play much Alex Kidd. Haven't played Heroes of Might and Magic either, but the rest are bonafide classics.

Wings is a personal favourite. Never completed it. Got spanked whenever Bloody April rolled around. Could never bring myself to continue with a new pilot. Someone really needs to do a serious WW1 flight combat game again. You ever play Knights of the Sky or Red Baron, TDD?

Some good picks there. Had an NES instead of a Master System, so didn't really play much Alex Kidd. Haven't played Heroes of Might and Magic either, but the rest are bonafide classics.