Opinions Please

Jeff Le Taxi

Laptop for your daughter is a must. sats or not, kids need their own laptop nowadays.

You'll be glad you bought it within weeks Jeff. My grandson (11) got one for Christmas, best present ever. He mainly plays some online role role play game but also uses is it for homework often asking my advice as I sort of teach IT for a living. I'm not very knowledgable but I what I do know is how to find stuff on the internet. At work if someone has a problem I just sit down next to them and WE find a solution. It's great, THE best job I have ever had.

Jamie (gs) thinks that I the sun shines out of my.. - he doesn't ever say 'that' (down almost entirely to excellent grandparent skills) but you get the picture.

I help him to speed up his computer with basic stuff like defrag once a month and how to clear cookies, cookies are downloaded in their hundreds with youngsters, don't ask me why but whatever sites these kids visit, they don't half bung up your computers. Make sure she looks after it, it will pay dividends later when you need HER help.

That laptop looks nice but don;t buy one cos it looks nice. The really good ones look a bit more functional but they are also regarded as stylish by kids, kids now their stuff re style apparently. Ask for someone on here to find you one, tell them your budget and I promise that they will get their collective heads together and find you an absolute bargain. SaintStevo found me an amazing deal lat year, a really great laptop for mrs h, I use it more than I do my own actually - only cos its she's always got the bloody thing on, playing some stupid girlie game (Jewel Quest) evry waking hour, even when she's SUPPOSED to be cooking my bloody dinner.

Get one with an integral webcam. They aren't brilliant but kids do not want to keep clipping an external one on top of their screens, just add 'decent webcam' to your wish list.