Jump to content
stevegrant

Libel Reminder / Use of Main Board Rules / Useful Links

Recommended Posts

It seems as though I need to issue yet another reminder about posting libellous or potentially libellous content on the forum.

 

The libel law in the UK is very heavily weighted in favour of the target of the defaming comments, and as far as posts on internet message boards are concerned, any such claim for libel could be levied against not just the individual who posted the original comments, but also anybody who quotes them, anybody responsible for moderating the site and indeed the company who provide the hosting for the site.

 

As such, libellous comments WILL be deleted, without fail. Repetition of the libel from this point onwards WILL result in the appropriate sanctions. I suggest re-reading the forum rules if you are still unclear.

 

Given the timing of my post here, I'm sure it's fairly obvious which particular story I'm referring to.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Please find attached the following lifted from the forum rules.

 

Southampton Football Club

The Saints - often referred to as the "Main Board", this is the forum for all Saints-related discussion, including the team, club finances, boardroom discussion, ticketing, transfer rumours, etc. We ask that supporters of other clubs do not post on this forum. Use "The Lounge" or "The Muppet Show" instead. This forum is now only visible to registered members to protect the load on the server at peak times, particularly matchdays. To view this forum, please register.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For those of you interested, here you can find compiled a list of web and social media links.

 

Web Links

Saints Official Site: http://www.saintsfc.co.uk/page/Home

Saints on BBC: http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/s/southampton/

Saints on Sky Sports: http://www.skysports.com/football/teams/southampton/

Saints on the Daily Echo: http://www.dailyecho.co.uk/saints

 

Twitter Links

Media

Saints Official Twitter: http://twitter.com/SouthamptonFC

Jordan Sibley (Club Head of Media): http://twitter.com/jordansibley

Tom Biggs: (Club Communications Officer) http://twitter.com/TWKBiggs

BBC Radio Solent: http://twitter.com/solentsport

Ed Chamberlain: http://twitter.com/skysports_ed

Matthew Le Tissier: http://twitter.com/mattletiss7

Dan Lobb: http://twitter.com/danlobb

Simon Williams: http://twitter.com/mrsimonwilliams

 

First Team

Charlie Austin: http://twitter.com/chazaustin9

Ryan Bertrand: http://twitter.com/ryanbertrand3

Jordy Clasie: http://twitter.com/JordyClasie

Stephen Davis: https://twitter.com/StevenDavis8

Virgil van Dijk: http://twitter.com/VirgilvDijk

Fraser Forster: http://twitter.com/FraserForster

Manolo Gabbiadini: http://twitter.com/Mgabbia23

Jake Hesketh: http://twitter.com/jakehesketh

Shane Long: http://twitter.com/ShaneLong7

Cuco Martina: http://twitter.com/CucoMartina

Sam McQueen: http://twitter.com/sammcqueen123

Hassen Mouez: http://twitter.com/hassen_mouez

Jérémy Pied: http://twitter.com/JrmyPied

Nathan Redmond: http://twitter.com/NathanRedmond22

Harrison Reed: http://twitter.com/HarrisonReed

Jay Rodriguez: http://twitter.com/JayRodriguez9

Oriol Romeu: http://twitter.com/OriolRomeu

Josh Sims: http://twitter.com/simsjosh12

Cédric Soares: http://twitter.com/OficialCedric

Jack Stephens: http://twitter.com/jackstephens_18

Matthew Targett: http://twitter.com/Mattytargett

James Ward-Prowse: http://twitter.com/Prowsey16

Maya Yoshida: http://twitter.com/MayaYoshida3

 

Development Team

Marcus Barnes: http://twitter.com/MARCUS9BARNES

William Britt: http://twitter.com/will_britt

Kyle Clinton: http://twitter.com/Kyle123clinton

Joshua Debayo: http://twitter.com/JDebayo96

Dominic Gape: http://twitter.com/DomGape

Harry Isted: http://twitter.com/HarryIsted1

Chris Johns: http://twitter.com/cjohns547

Bevis Mugabi: http://twitter.com/B_M321

Olufela Olomola: http://twitter.com/olomola

Omar Rowe: http://twitter.com/Omar_rowe

James White: http://twitter.com/JamesWhite_01

Will Wood: http://twitter.com/Will_Wood3

 

Out On Loan

Sam Gallagher: http://twitter.com/SamGallagher40

Alex McCarthy: https://twitter.com/Alex_Macca23

 

Staff

Jordan Sibley (Club Head of Media): http://twitter.com/jordansibley

Tom Biggs: (Club Communications Officer) http://twitter.com/TWKBiggs

Jim Lucas (Digital Communications Manager): http://twitter.com/JFBLucas

John Wright: http://twitter.com/Johnnnn92

Matt Watson: http://twitter.com/MWatson_Photo

Simon Williams: http://twitter.com/mrsimonwilliams

Tom Coull: http://twitter.com/TomCoull

Tom Bennett: http://twitter.com/tombennett6

Mo Gimpel: http://twitter.com/MoGimpel

Andrew Gray: http://twitter.com/adgray13

Radhi Jaidi: http://twitter.com/RadhijaidiOff

Mark Forbes: http://twitter.com/KitmanForbesy

Danielle Lewis: http://twitter.com/djl1982

 

Former Players

Toby Alderweireld: http://twitter.com/AlderweireldTob

Sam Argent: http://twitter.com/samargent2

Gareth Bale: http://twitter.com/garethbale11

Nicky Banger: http://twitter.com/nickybanger

James Beattie: http://twitter.com/1jamesbeattie

Francis Benali: http://twitter.com/FrannyBenali

Bartosz Bialkowski: http://twitter.com/1BartMan1

Dexter Blackstock: http://twitter.com/dexblackstock23

Artur Boruc: http://twitter.com/ArturBoruc

Jamal Branker: http://twitter.com/JamalBranker

Jimmy Case: http://twitter.com/JimmyCase8

Calum Chambers: http://twitter.com/CalumChambers95

Mick Channon: http://twitter.com/Mick_Channon_TV

Richard Chaplow: http://twitter.com/Rchap04

Nathaniel Clyne: http://twitter.com/Nathaniel_Clyne

Fraser Colmer: http://twitter.com/FraserColmer47

Jack Cork: http://twitter.com/jackcork1

Cody Cropper: http://twitter.com/codycropper_99

Joe Curtis: http://twitter.com/JoeCurtisx

Kevin Davies: http://twitter.com/Kevin__Davies

Rory Delap: http://twitter.com/RoryJDelap

Ryan Dickson: http://twitter.com/Ryandickson23

Jack Dovey: http://twitter.com/JackDovey92

Eljero Elia: http://twitter.com/eljero11elia

Jason Euell: http://twitter.com/jasoneuell

Danny Fox: http://twitter.com/DannyFox13

Simon Gillet: http://twitter.com/S_Gilly18

Danny Higginbottom: http://twitter.com/Higginbotham05

Charlie Higgins: http://twitter.com/CharlieHiggins_

Radhi Jaidi: http://twitter.com/RadhijaidiOff

Oliver Lancashire: http://twitter.com/olly_lancashire

Graham Le Saux: http://twitter.com/graemelesaux14

Matthew Le Tissier: http://twitter.com/mattletiss7

Tadanari Lee: http://twitter.com/ChunTadanari

Dejan Lovren: http://twitter.com/DejanLovrenLFC6

Claus Lundekvam: http://twitter.com/SaintSkipper5

Neil Maddison: http://twitter.com/nmaddo

Niall Mason: http://twitter.com/niallmason_5

Garry Monk: http://twitter.com/GarryMonk16

Corby Moore: http://twitter.com/CMooro

Conor O'Sullivan: http://twitter.com/conorgosullivan

Brett Omerod: http://twitter.com/B1orm

Egil Ostenstad: http://twitter.com/Egilostenstad

Dani Osvaldo: http://twitter.com/danistone25

Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain: http://twitter.com/Alex_OxChambo

Matthew Patterson: http://twitter.com/MattPat35

Graziano Pelle: http://twitter.com/GPelle19

Chris Perry: http://twitter.com/ChrisPezPerry

Jason Puncheon: http://twitter.com/jason_punch42

Gaston Ramirez: http://twitter.com/gasramirez10

Ben Reeves: http://twitter.com/BenReevo

Christopher Regis: http://twitter.com/cregis8

Neil Ruddock: http://twitter.com/RealRazor

Jack Saville: http://twitter.com/jacksaville

Morgan Schneiderlin: http://twitter.com/SchneiderlinMo4

Luke Shaw: http://twitter.com/LukeShaw23

Peter Shilton: http://twitter.com/Peter_Shilton

Tim Sparv: http://twitter.com/TimSparv

Wayne Thomas: http://twitter.com/Tommaldinho

Theo Walcott: http://twitter.com/theowalcott

Gordon Watson: http://twitter.com/Flash_37

Victor Wanyama: http://twitter.com/VictorWanyama

Mark Wright: http://twitter.com/Mark5Wright

Matt Young: http://twitter.com/MattYoungR

 

Facebook Links

Saints on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/OfficialSaints/220396037973624

Reuben Agboola: http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=578217305

Steve De Ridder: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Steve-De-Ridder/269235015466

Radhi Jaidi: http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000014667692

Claus Lundekvam: http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000014667692

Marian Pahars: http://www.facebook.com/people/Marian-Pahars/100000154093334

 

 

Forum Members

georgeweahscousin: http://georgeweahscousin.com/

crstig: http://twitter.com/crstig

Matthew Le God: http://twitter.com/matthewlegod

 

 

If anyone knows of any others (or if I've messed up and included an imposter) post them and I'll update the list.

 

Obviously Twitter is public domain, and all this information was already available for those looking for it, but before we get any problems, I ask you to please treat this information with respect.

Edited by Jimmy_D
Updated.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think a vast number of posters have forgotten this a football forum and not a playground. Having waded through a few threads in recent days and comparing to a year or so ago it appears it has got systematically worse.

 

So please let bygones be bygones, respond to the post not the poster, ignore those you don't want to see content from etc.

 

Going forward I personally be applying the forums rules to the letter which will involve infractions and bans. Hopefully a bit of football discussion will break out as a result.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

View Terms of service (Terms of Use) and Privacy Policy (Privacy Policy) and Forum Guidelines ({Guidelines})