Help: Fishing for beginners

Tac-tics

I am currently looking into getting into fishing.

I have a beachcaster but no line or weights etc

I have limited knowledge and terminology.

any advice on what I need?

I am brainless with it so any advice on knots and tips I will be greatful.

Do you live in southampton, if not try buying Sea Angler or you could google it (sea fishing tips). But if you live in southampton my friend owns Al's Tackle & Bait in woolston, you'd get a lot of help from him as he gets a lot of the best anglers(england boys) in his shop.

Hope This Helps!

PM me if you like ;)

Here's 2 links that may help you:

http://www.worldseafishing.com

http://www.sea-fishing.org

They both have forums which welcome newcomers and will answer virtually any question you may have.

Do you have a reel for the beachcaster, if you do, is the reel loaded with line? Does it says what the casting weight is(most beachcasters is somewhere in the region of 4-8oz). This means the minimum lead weight advisable for casting is 4oz, max is 8oz)

Thread the line through the eye of the hook and pull about 6 inches through.

Go about 4-6 times round the the main line.

Thread the line through the bit at the bottom of the twist and then through the loop created.

Spit on the line and tighten it up (it tightens like a noose).

Cut the line off leaving a bit spare incase it slips.

If you're coarse fishing (which your not) it's best to cut the line close, but with large hooks and large bait it's not that important.

Do yourself a favour and find a fishing shop, they'll set up the rod for you, let you know what gear you'll need without ripping you off, advise you about where and when to fish and if you're honest and say you're on a budget they'll work with you to get the most out of fishing.