House rental advice

Crazy Diamond

Morning all.

You may remember I was looking at moving to London a few months ago. Good news is that I now have four friends in employment in the capital and all are eager to move, so we're thinking of doing some viewings next week.

We're looking for a five bedroom property in south west or central London as we need to get to Waterloo quite easily. I've found a few places, it's just a matter of organising viewings.

Other than as a student, I have no rental experience, and wondered what advice you'd have. What should I watch out for, what to expect in fees, what's reasonable, what isn't, all that jazz.

Your help would be greatly appreciated.

My current rental (Limehouse so slightly East but within 30mins of Waterloo) was round on Gumtree and we did it completely privately with the house owner and completely avoided all estate agent fees. I'd suggest having a check on there (although alot of estate agents also post adds).

Check out Zoopla as a good property rental tool. I'm biased but I'd go East (no further than zone two though so Isle of Dogs, Bow, those kind of areas). You get alot for your money, good transport links (Jubilee to Waterloo generally very easy).

As for general rental advise:

-When you view a property it will likely have alot of furniture, some of which is the tennant, some of which the home owner. Get a confirmed list of whats included and whats not

-On the flip side of that if you want to bring furniture (bed, couch for example) and the home owner as already provided you can usually push to have it removed

-Check window fittings for gaps/whether it is double glazed. You will get an idea here of how well it will retain temp during the winter/how noisy roads will be

-Check things like lights, ovens, fridges etc that they work - if they don't ensure its written into contract to get replaced

-Check water pressure from showers, if your all blokes it doesn't matter to much but still worth a check