iPad 3

pap

We're getting close to spring, meaning that a new iPad is on the horizon. I have not yet succumbed to an iPad myself (although Ms pap has one). I'm a bit of a tech snob and didn't like the resolution on the screen, especially as I've got an iPhone 4 that looks the biz. However, it looks like they're about to sort that.

Rumours:-

• Launch date is likely to be on or after March 7th. Apple have invited a load of retailers to an iPad launch event on that date.
  • Screen is going to have 2048×1536 resolution (that's better than HD, luddites)
  • 9.7inches on the diagonal
  • Around $70-$90 more expensive than iPad 2
  • Quad-core processor
  • Full list here

Think this might be the one I take the plunge on. Anyone else looking forward to this?

hi pap! im following you round today!

if ive got iphones do i need ipads? i like my iphone the only thing is when i'm playing tiger woods golf on the toilet and the fone rings i drop it and the screen smashes on the floor! It gets all spider cracks and costs me £50 for a new screen every time it happens, which is 3 times so far. Possibly design fault???

does this happen with ipads? I had a look on the link but they dont mention it???

On the face of it, no - the iPad is not a phone, so will not ring. However, if you are hooked up to your wifi, the pad may make noises depending on what apps you've installed, whether you have allowed them to be noisy and/or the volume of your iPad.

You could be about to (ahem) drop one off and receive a Words with Friends notification. CaptInterruption wants to play! Depending on how skittish you are, this may cause you to drop your iPad on the floor and suffer another broken screen.

You might also install Skype, which will let your iPad pretend to be a phone. Same dilemma really.

The other thing I should mention is that the more Apple products you own, the more likely you are to have a cock sprout out of your head.