Thread: Hampshire CCC 2020 Season thread.

Default Hampshire CCC 2020 Season thread.

Overseas player to be announced today!

I predict Nathan Lyon will be the man.

Quote Originally Posted by Saint in Paradise View Post
    I predict Nathan Lyon will be the man.
    Yes as expected. I'm no expert, but wouldn't a top order batsman have been a better choice?

Fixtures are out:
    https://www.bbc.com/sport/cricket/50549193
    A reshuffle in 2019 saw three teams promoted from the second tier of the County Championship and one relegated from Division One, meaning 10 sides will compete in Division One and eight in Division Two in 2020.

All counties will still play 14 games in total, with some fixtures in Division One only taking place once.
    What a joke. Hants only play Lancs, Northants, Essex and Surrey once. An amateurish way to run a professional sport.

Medals, Trophy Lallana can also earn at Southampton- Andy Durman 16/05/14
    Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by Dark Munster View Post
    Fixtures are out:
    https://www.bbc.com/sport/cricket/50549193

What a joke. Hants only play Lancs, Northants, Essex and Surrey once. An amateurish way to run a professional sport.
    Wtf? How is that fair?

It was completely normal in cricket throughout the 70/80's t0 play one team once and another team twice. It's always been one of those weird things in cricket. In 1973 when we won the championship there were 17 teams in a single division & Hampshire played 20 games. In 1986 when we came 2nd there were 17 teams in a single division and we played 24 games. In my first season of watching 1979 Hampshire played 21 games in a 17 team division. It's all part of the weird charm of cricket, that's why Americans don't understand it.

Quote Originally Posted by wadesmith View Post