Sam McQueen

trousers

Yep, I think when the dust settles, and people can look at the big picture. Difficult now as people are a bit angry, and rightly so IMO, We really should have put out a better team today. I can only think it's a cultural thing. Cup competitions abroad are generally second best to the League.

Saying that, what an amazing future this club has. Unrivalled academy, infrastructure in place, a squad built around the best young English talent. Progressive manager, who given a pre season has got the squad tactically and physically able to play his pressing game that is a joy to watch and gets results. It's only our 2nd season and we still have a load of below average squad players contracted. The depth isn't there, we all know that. I'm sure the manager knows it too. Let's see what happens over the summer.

My only ITK thing, I work as a cameraman for Sky Sports, not covering Saints unfortunately. I have worked with Guillem Balague a few times, a good friend of Pochettino's and an avid Espanyol fan. He is/was under instruction to use the youth team ahead of signing new players. That was when Cortese was there and 2 months ago.

Things are good in general, major screw up perhaps today, but just look slightly more long term.

I know it was short and i didn't see the game but what type of player is he ?

He's a left winger, pretty creative from the little I've seen of him. Actually looked pretty bright and confident yesterday, got involved near the very end with a couple of desperate moves.

Academy debutants in all competitions: Lloyd Isgrove (I think), Harrison Reed, Omar Rowe, Jake Sinclair, Sam Gallagher, Sam McQueen

Academy debutants in the league: Calum Chambers, Harrison Reed, Sam Gallagher. With others on the bench in games.

*** Not his season, but Lloyd Isgrove actually played in that ill-fated League Cup game at Leeds last season.

Others who have already debuted in the League Cup last season - and before