Telling Porky Pies on Your CV......

Suhari

So, I have recently been made redundant. Ah well, onwards and upwards etc.

• Most recently I was with company A for 2 years - left due to redundancy
  • Prior to that with company B for 10 months - I was made redundant
  • Prior to that I did a full time MBA (1 year)
  • Prior to that with company C for 9 months - left to do the MBA (I was given a scholarship which halved the fees if I went in 2005, rather than 2006 as I had planned)
  • Prior to that with company D for 6.5 years
  • Prior to that with company E for 3 years

I am a little uncomfortable about having a few short-term roles on the CV; although I can show some decent achievements in each role, and left for genuine reasons (redundancy and scholarship, rather than being crap). Hence in interviews I can address this with confidence.

That said I am thinking about 'massaging' the time I was with company C, and making it 18-20 months. This would show slightly more stability, and not detract from other achievements. It is unlikely they would ever be used as a reference now: the company has changed hands and most of the old bosses have moved on.

My aim in doing this is purely to help get more interviews; I have only just started my latest job search, so am unsure if I will struggle to secure interviews or not.

I know there are some recruitment types who read the forum, and I wondered what your views on this would be? Clearly there are implications if an employer spotted my creative history making......but on the other hand it might be worth it.

Advice welcome!

No need to even think of being creative, your work history is fine and short term positions are commonplace so don't worry about it. More important you get your CV done properly and emphasise your good points ( if any ;) ) in an early paragraph.

This is a reasonable guide IMO which should allow you to do it yourself but absolutely essential you check the spelling and grammar !!!