A New Charge Against Southampton Football Club

Gemmel

For those that are interested in our finances, the Club have taken out a new fixed and floating charge against all assets.

The previous charge has been satisfied and the same company Vibrac Corporation has been used for the new one.

Whilst the charge in itself is nothing earth shattering, it does raise a few questions and perhaps suggests we are now self funding.

Having downloaded (From Companies House) the charge from last year (Which I cant find at the moment) and this new one, from memory this new one seems way more detailed in regards to the terms and conditions . A couple of examples- which I am assuming is based on defaulting, appears (I am no Lawyer, so will be happy to be corrected for those that understand these things in more depth) to give the lendor control of all bank accounts. Additionally Saints had to notify the Premier league and again based on what I assume to be if we defaulted, forces the Premier League to pass outstanding Premiership money to them (Vibrac).

The amount of the loan is blacked out, so we don't know how much it is for (It is quite a long field to be blacked out). The Swiss rambler believed the last charge to be 3 million, so a relatively small amount but if I am right about the two different contracts for the different charge, this loan might be a more significant amount.

I have long been of the opinion that we are no longer being funded by the family or any sort of trust from Markus - Which I have no problem with at all, but it does seem that these loans are at odds with Corteses interview on clubs spending next years tv money.

I am sure everything is under control and manageable, but worth keeping an eye on.