Autism and ADHD in young people

Turkish

Having been involved in kids football now 3 years i am staggered at the amount of children that have one or both of these conditions. Of our team of 14 boys at U11s 3 have one of the two, one has both, in my sons class of 10 and 11 year old i would estimated about 15-20% of the kids in his year have one or the other.

I'm no expert on this at all im a dad with a football coaching badge but there must be some explanation for this. 35 years ago when i was that age i barely remember anyone even hearing about these conditions. I must say that two of the boys in our team are generally fine but one is an absolute nightmare. 

A couple of explanations from people who know better than me (a teacher and football coach at a professional club) have views that some of it is down to too much sugar in childrens diet coupled with a lack of activity. We all know how wired some kids can be after a bag of sweets so they think that if the child has a propensity to be wired that way if they are sitting on an xbox all evening and weekend, drinking full sugar drinks, eating pizzas for tea and constantly filling up on sweets then it's no wonder their brains are at 10000 mph all the time as they are never burn it off. The football coach made the point that cases of this in kids that are active and fit are generally a lot lower.

Anyway, be interested to get some thoughts and experiences. I about to do a training session on it run by the local FA to help try and understand it a bit better, possibly not the best source of information but maybe will help on a weekend at football

Edited by Turkish

45 minutes ago, Turkish said:

Having been involved in kids football now 3 years i am staggered at the amount of children that have one or both of these conditions. Of our team of 14 boys at U11s 3 have one of the two, one has both, in my sons class of 10 and 11 year old i would estimated about 15-20% of the kids in his year have one or the other.