Russell Martin snubs Rishi Sunak

Guided Missile

Southampton manager Russell Martin appeared to snub Rishi Sunak at St Mary’s Stadium on Friday night after the Prime Minister watched the home side beat Plymouth 2-1 to maintain their Championship promotion push.

Russell, whose side are now unbeaten in 17 matches, was asked post-match whether Saints fan Sunak had ventured from the stands to the dressing room to offer his congratulations. Russell replied: “He might have come down [to see the players], but I have no interest in saying hello. How’s that for honesty?

“I hope he enjoyed himself just like anyone who comes here. I hope they enjoy themselves. I have no interest [in chatting] because I’m a football manager. I’m not sure we’re aligned on too much politically but I know he’s a fan and I hope he enjoyed watching the team. I’m sure some people would be excited about him being here but we had a job to do and we were here to win a football match and we did.”

What a twat our manager is.  Wouldn't have hurt to keep his wacky Brighton politics to himself and shown some respect to a Southampton fan who happens to hold the office of Prime Minister. 

Didn't mind the club taking sponsorship from a gambling company even after his father lost their family house to betting. No class and typical of a lefty green arse.

Rishi.jpeg

• Like 13
  • Haha 15
  • Confused 2
  • Sad 2

Fair play to him I couldn't give a damm about politics either.... Not like they care about the population... 

Look at the whole Covid fiasco where the older folk were isolated in care homes.... 

Whilst the House of Commons finest lived it up with the finest powder, booze and Brasses tax payers money could fund.... laughing at the mere peasants who fooled for the nonsense....

• Like 6
  • Haha 1
  • Confused 1

2 minutes ago, AlexLaw76 said:

I thought it was a pretty stupid and a 'look at me' comment.

Like it not, Sunak is a fan and will be a fan long after Martin has left us